This Award, sponsored by SGS-Lakefield through The Canadian Mineral Processing Society of CIM honours Art MacPherson who passed away on September 25, 2000. Following graduation from The Technical University of Nova Scotia (TUNS) in 1934, MacPherson served with the Royal Canadian Engineers during World War II. In 1946 he joined the Department of Mines & Technical surveys in Ottawa and initiated a strong interest in autogenous grinding. Five years later he joined Aerofall Mills Ltd, ultimately serving as Executive Vice-President & General Manager, where he developed dry grinding systems in iron, copper and uranium plants. He moved to Bechtel in 1962 and pioneered large grinding circuits for many major projects including the Carol project of IOC, the Griffith Mine and Lornex. He was a consultant to Island Copper, Similkameen and Highland Valley Copper. Art devoted a lifetime to pioneering achievement in the field of mineral processing. He introduced innovative engineering design methodology, which became firmly established in the industry, for the development and construction of autogenous and semi-autogenous grinding circuits. His achievements were recognized by many including AIME who awarded Art the prestigious Richards Award — the first Canadian to receive it in its 40 year history. The Award was first presented at the 2001 SAG Conference to Andrew L. Mular, Emeritus Professor of Mineral Process Engineering at the University of British Columbia.

The award will be made from time to time as circumstances warrant in recognition of outstanding results achieved by an active CIM/CMP member while tackling a significant comminution challenge in mineral processing plants and therefore bringing a significant contribution to the advancement of comminution.

The award shall consist of an appropriate plaque, a medallion and other testimonial as decided from time to time by the Board of Directors.

No more than one award may be made in one year.

The recipient will normally be a CIM member active in the Canadian Mineral Processors Society but non-members with exceptional qualifications may be considered for the award.

The membership at large shall nominate candidates for the award. The nomination shall be supported by at least five (5) members of the CIM/CMP Society.

Every nomination shall be accompanied by a statement giving clearly the reason, which in the opinion of the nominators, make their nominee a suitable candidate for the award.

During a year in which a SAG Conference is held, the selection of the Art-MacPherson award winner will be made by a CMP-led award selection committee that will include members of the International Advisory Committee of the SAG Conference.

The award should normally be presented during the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Mineral Processors. However, in the year that the SAG conference is held, the award will be presented at the event. If neither of these times and places are suitable, the Board of Directors may specify suitable alternate arrangements for the presentation of the award.