

Google Search

WWW 
This Site

MP'S MISSION STATEMENT

NDRÉ LAPLANTE MEMORIAL CHOLARSHIP

REGIONAL MEETINGS

CALL FOR PAPERS FOR THE 41ST ANNUAL OPERATORS CONFERENCE

STUDENT ESSAY COMPETITION

EXECUTIVE/REGIONAL REPS

**CMP Sponsored Events** 

**Publications** 

ARCHIVES

# 2000 Annual Meeting Highlights

## 32<sup>nd</sup> CANADIAN MINERAL PROCESSORS OPERATORS **CONFERENCE**

January 18-20, 2000

Ottawa, Canada

The Canadian Mineral Processors thank the following sponsors for their generous support of the meeting:

> AGRA Monenco Air Products Canada Limited Baker Process (EIMCO) BetzDearborn CANMET Charles Tennant & Company (Canada) Limited Ciba Specialty Chemicals COREM CYTEC Canada Incorporated **EuroZinc Mining Corporation** FFE Minerals-TECHNEQUIP Hatch Associates Limited Huntsman Corporation Canada Incorporated Lakefield Research Limited Magotteaux Canada MinnovEX Technologies Incorporated Moly-Cop Canada Norcast Outokumpu Technolog The Westin Hotel Ottawa

### MINERAL PROCESSOR OF THE YEAR AWARD

The recipient was Gil Labarre, Mill Expansion Project Manager, Hudson Bay Mining & Smelting Company Limited. The award went to Gil for his contributions to the mineral processing field through 30 years of experience, information and knowledge. Gil graduated with a B.Sc. In Chemistry from the University of Manitoba in 1969. Gil worked as a summer student at HBM&S and after graduation joined Hudson Bay Mining and Smelting permanently in 1969 as a Project Engineer. From there, Gil has held increasingly senior positions at HBM&S. Some of his key successes include; design, construction and operation of the modern 2000 tpd Namew Lake Cu-Ni Concentrator, pioneering the underwater tailings disposal system for the 3000 tpd Snow Lake Cu-Zn concentrator, spearheading major improvements in metallurgical performance, cost and safety for the 5000 tpd Flin Flon Cu-Zn concentrator, as well as initiating and completing over 30 capital and major repair projects in the Flin Flon concentrator over the last three years at a cost of 7.5 million dollars. Gil recently accepted the position of Mill Expansion Project Manager for the 35 plus million dollar Flin Flon Mill Up-Grade Project.



(Left-right) Richard May presents the Mineral Processor of The Year Award to Gil Labarre, assisted by CIM President Gerry Bolton and Fred Rizzuto.

#### THE BILL MOORE SPECIAL ACHIEVER AWARD

This year's winner was Steve Wilson, Section Head of Mineral Processing at INCO's Technical Services. Steve obtained his bachelors degree in Geological and Mineral Engineering from the University of Toronto in 1986, a M.Sc. at the University of Toronto under Glenn Dobby in 1990 and is currently pursuing a PhD at the University of Nottingham studying fractal analysis and analysis of comminution mechanisms. Steve joined INCO in the Matte Processing Department in 1990, moved to the Smelter Department in 1994 and became Superintendent of Production Planning in May of 1995. He currently is Section Head of Mineral Processing at the J. Roy Gordon Research Laboratories in Mississauga Ontario.



(Left to right) Richard May presents Bill Moore Special Achiever Award to Steve Wilson of Inco, assisted by CIM President Gerry Bolton.

Dr. Jim Finch of McGill University received the award for BEST PRESENTATION AT THE 1999 CMP ANNUAL MEETING for his paper 'Bubble Surface Area Flux: A Parameter to Characterize Flotation Cells'.



(Left to right) Richard May presents Jim Finch of McGill University With The Best Presentation Award.

Chuck Edwards of Cameco Corporation was presented with the PAST CHAIRMAN'S AWARD.



(Left to right) Chuck Edwards receiving The Past Chairman Certificate From Richard May.

A specially bound volume of the CMP Proceedings was presented to Cary Chapman, son of the late Colin Chapman. A Colin Chapman Memorial Trust Fund has been formed from which Universities and Technical Schools that offer Mineral Processing Programs receive a CMP CD-ROM and a specially bound CMP Proceedings annually for their respective libraries.



Cary Chapman Thanking CMP Delegates at The Annual Awards Dinner.



Jennifer Abols of Nordberg Machinery and Todd Kanhai a graduate student at Laurentian University acknowledged Professor Laxman(Lucky) Amaratunga, of Laurentian University as a recipient of the CIM Distinguished Lecturer Award.



Jennifer Abols and Professor Lucky Amaratunga

### **EDUCATION PROGRAM - STUDENTS**

Twenty-six students, selected from each of the Universities and Technical Schools across Canada offering studies in the Mineral Processing field were sponsored by the CMP to participate in the meeting. They were:

University of British Columbia - Steven Lawrence and Graham Loyst

British Columbia Institute of Technology - Hubert Schimann and William Boorse

University of Alberta - Cheryl Steer and Francis Chachula

Keewatin Community College - Curtis Holowachuk and John McKenzie

Laurentian University - Lori Smith and Jeffrey Butcher

Haileybury - Douglas Wheeler and Daphny Armstrong

University of Toronto - James Brown and Sam Quansah

Queen's University - Richard Murdoch and David Twigg

McGill University - Alex Charest and Osabelle Demers

Cegep L'Amiante - Guillame Poirier and Gladys Plante

Cegep L'Abitibi - Jean-Dominique Dénommé and Cathy Bernier

Université Laval - Dominic Girard and Mathieu Girard

**DalTech** - Dwayne Parsons and David Weisgerber.



Ad Hoc Gathering of The Students

**NOTE**: Reproduction of any items, other than for internal use is prohibited without special permission from The Canadian Mineral Processor's.

Top of Page
Who We Are | Regional Meetings | Awards | Publications | Links | Site Map
2007 Annual Meeting Highlights | Archives



This page last updated: May 13, 2008